Europa World: The Europa World Year Book online Routledge -- Taylor & Francis group
Emilio Monzó Marta Gabriela Michetti


Argentina: Senate

The Vice-President of the Republic is ex officio President of the Senate. In addition, there is a provisional President.

The Senate has 72 directly elected members, three from each province. One-third of these seats are renewable every two years. The last elections were held on 27 October 2019. The new senators were scheduled to take up their seats on 10 December 2019.

Distribution of Seats by Legislative Bloc, following elections of 27 October 2019, preliminary results

Partido Justicialista/Peronists  37 
Cambiemos  29 
Dissident Peronists  2 
Tercera Vía  1 
Others  3 
Total  72 

Citation: Senate (Argentina), in Europa World online. London, Routledge. Retrieved 19 November 2019 from

Emilio Monzó Marta Gabriela Michetti

Back to Top

Please note, this site uses web standards that your browser does not support.
See help for further information.