Europa World: The Europa World Year Book online Routledge -- Taylor & Francis group
Declarations, Rights and Guarantees Executive Power

Legislative Power

Argentina: Legislative Power

Legislative power is vested in the bicameral Congreso (Congress), comprising the Cámara de Diputados (Chamber of Deputies) and the Senado (Senate). The composition of the Chamber of Deputies is determined according to the population of each province. Deputies are directly elected for a four-year term and are eligible for re-election; approximately one-half of the membership of the Chamber shall be renewed every two years. The Senate comprises 72 members (three from each province), directly elected for a six-year term, with one-third of the seats renewable every two years. The Vice-President of the nation sits as President of the Senate.

The powers of Congress include regulating foreign trade; fixing import and export duties; levying taxes for a specified time whenever the defence, common safety or general welfare of the state so requires; contracting loans on the nation’s credit; regulating the internal and external debt and the currency system of the country; fixing the budget; and facilitating the prosperity and welfare of the nation. Congress must approve required and urgent decrees and delegated legislation. Congress also approves or rejects treaties, authorizes the Executive to declare war or make peace, and establishes the strength of the armed forces in peace and war.

Citation: Legislative Power (Argentina), in Europa World online. London, Routledge. Retrieved 21 October 2018 from

Declarations, Rights and Guarantees Executive Power

Back to Top

Please note, this site uses web standards that your browser does not support.
See help for further information.